LDS Scripture Study for Kids

Crafts and Activities to Teach the Scriptures

4th Article of Faith (Thursday and Friday)

on July 31, 2012

Thursday: Scripture Boxes

We started with reading the 4th Article of Faith in the scriptures. Little Bear then did the 4th Article of Faith puzzle and we sang and pointed to the words. Then I pulled out a magical worksheet called Scripture Boxes!!!!! I tried to be enthusiastic so Little Bear would also be excited, but mostly he just stared blankly at me. ;) I read the quote at the top (sorry I don’t remember where I found it). Then I told him that we were going to read some scriptures. Each of the scriptures would be about a certain principle or ordinance that we were learning about. Little Bear got to choose a different color of crayon for each principle and ordinance.

I made a key at the top so we could remember which color was which.

Wow, these pictures are much blurrier than they looked on my camera. I think a new camera must be in order, no? :)

Next, we looked up each of the scriptures and decided which principle or ordinance it was talking about. Little Bear then colored the square the appropriate color.

I was actually very surprised at how good Little Bear was at this. I did try to emphasize the right word in each scripture and he did get confused a little on some of the baptism and Holy Ghost scriptures, but overall, I was very impressed with my 4 year old.

In case you want it, here is a list of the scriptures that I used:

D&C 58:42 – repentance, 3 Nephi 11:33 – baptism, Matthew 4:17 – repentance, John 14:26 – Holy Ghost, Helaman 5:47 – faith, 2 Nephi 31:8 – Holy Ghost, Alma 32:21 – faith, 2 Nephi 31:5 – baptism

Friday: Review Game

We started by finding the 4th Article of Faith in the scriptures and reading, then singing it. Next, we brought out the 4th Article of Faith and Little Bear glued the pieces down. He was really excited about doing it this week.

Then, we sang the song and pointed to the words as we sang.

Next, I got out the posters that we made on Wednesday. I lined them up on the floor and Little Bear stood behind them. I called out a principle or ordinance and Little Bear had to hop to the correct poster.

I called the principles and ordinances out of order so Little Bear would hop from 2 to 4 to 1 to 3. Or 1 to 4 to 3 to 2, etc. He really had fun with this. After that, he wanted me to hop and he called out the principles and ordinances. We didn’t call out numbers, he had to say the actual key word for each one (i.e. faith, repentance, baptism, Holy Ghost). When that was done, we sang the 4th Article of Faith song and Little Bear hopped to the correct number in order. It was a very fun week. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

